Under the 1914 Anglo/French agreement, the French and the British governments were given joint control over the New Hebrides.  As a result of the joint government of the country, all services, including the Police Force, were provided by both the French and British governments.  During this time, each Police Force was run separately.  Each Police Force was controlled by officers sent from Britain or French and local people were recruited for the other positions.  Because the laws of France and Britain were different, it was uneasy time and very confusing; on arrival in the country a person would choose which system or Police Force he would be responsible to.

On 20th May 1980, both Police Forces united and wore green uniforms; they came under command of Ni-Vanuatu officers. The Police Force was named the New Hebrides constabulary; some French and British officers were kept as advisors. An equal number of Ni-Vanuatu members were used to fill in the positions in the unified Police Force and the same number of Captains, Lieutenant, Inspectors,etc were promoted from both forces.


On 1st of August 1980, this Police Force became known as the Vanuatu Police Force.

On the 30th of July 1983 the Vanuatu Police Force changed its uniform from green to light blue shirt and navy blue trousers.


1980 - Establishment of Vanuatu Mobile Force (VMF) after Independence on 30 July 1980

1980 - 1st Intake of 120 personnel undertook Basic Military Training in Papua New Guinea with PNGDF. Funded by Australia.
1981 - 2nd Intake of 120 personnel attended basic military training in Papua New Guinea. Funded by Australia.
1982 - Construction of new Barracks buildings and operation vehicles funded by Australian Defence.
1994 - VMF first ever military peace keeping Deployment to Bougainville, Papua New Guinea of 50 strong officers.
2009 - Replacement of Australian SLR rifles with the French FAMAS.


Vanuatu Police Force Maritime Wing was established on 15th August 1985 .

In February 1987 the Maritime wing recruited its  technical sailors and seaman .

RVS Tukoro was handed over to the Vanuatu government on September 1987 and in 1988 was the establishment of the Maritime surveillance centers .

In August 2010, RVS Turoroa was handed over to PMW .

Police non-emergency:

Port Vila 22 222

Santo 36 222

Contact Us